Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
DIY Betsy question (Read 2391 times)
Coyote
Seasoned Member

DIY Betsy question
12/23/21 at 20:16:33

Hello everyone,

With the holidays approaching I am going to treat myself to a few items. Some of these being router bits for my upcoming Betsy project.

I am an absolute novice with routers so I am hoping someone here can help me out.

If any one is in the know.

For the edges of the baffles can I use a "straight bit" or flush bit to make the edge nice and straight?
I do not want to corner edges  rounded off but do not want to be 90' what would that bit be called?

For the drivers (Lii F15s) I need to cut the hole in the baffle, I have  a jig to cut circles what bit would that require?

The driver is mounted from behind so I need to route a small edge so the driver ring fit "inside" the back of the baffle, what is that bit? Then I chamfer the front side.

I am thinking of of giving the baffle a 3 to 5 degree negative angle so I need a 'straight' bit with an angle, does that exist or do I need to make some kind of jig?

Finally any suggestions on a quality brand for bits? I am more for buying a few quality bits than a cheaper 'kit'

Thanks to all,

Happy Holidays,

Alain

My modest system:
SE84UFO2.(2).
Quad mono 303 (x2) + 33 + FM3.
Marantz 2235.
Schiit Mani.
Technic SL23.
Thorens TD160 MKII + SME III tonearm. Ortophon OM10.
Oppo CD/DVD.
Celestion Ditton 66 studio.
Lii F15 in Betsy type OB.
ATAUDIO 12TC Pure OCC.
  IP Logged
Bilyeaux
Seasoned Member

Re: DIY Betsy question
Reply #1 - 12/23/21 at 22:59:09

Might try the DIY thread and/or the Betsy thread farther down list for speakers. Good luck! Sounds like a cool project

ARC LS25MK2, UFO2.1 & Denafrips Pontus II DAC, PSA P300 Regen, Rega P6 w/ NEO and Rega MM Phono, Marantz CD6006, Bluesound Node 2i, Nakamitchi Cassette, Syzygy Sub, Omega JR XRS Towers & 74' Heresy rebuilt from Crites, ZWIRE speaker, DSRXLR, AQ connects
  IP Logged
Brian
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 12/24/21 at 02:09:12