03/28/24 at 11:14:56 

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Blown fuse? (Read 16238 times)
Melvin
Ex Member

Blown fuse?
11/19/21 at 10:46:29

Good morning. Turned on the amp this morning and experienced a brief flash of white light and ... nada. No power. I'm assuming this is a blown fuse, however, I have no experience in this regard. I've had a tube fail in the past but no arcing, red-plating, etc. So, before I do a thing, thoughts? Much appreciated gentlemen.

IP Logged
Bilyeaux
Seasoned Member

Re: Blown fuse?
Reply #1 - 11/19/21 at 11:37:35

My amp shipped yesterday my first tube item. Sounds like it, should be a spare I would swap and see or PM Lon or one of the Veterans. Good luck and update us

ARC LS25MK2, UFO2.1 & Denafrips Pontus II DAC, PSA P300 Regen, Rega P6 w/ NEO and Rega MM Phono, Marantz CD6006, Bluesound Node 2i, Nakamitchi Cassette, Syzygy Sub, Omega JR XRS Towers & 74' Heresy rebuilt from Crites, ZWIRE speaker, DSRXLR, AQ connects
  IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Reply #2 - 11/19/21 at 11:56:12

Melvin, from my experience this is likely a rectifier failure. . . . If so. you'll need another rectifier, good idea to have one on hand. Your main fuse may have blown and that will be easy, there should be a spare in the holder, a short slow blow 3 Amp fuse.

If that fuse is replaced and you still have no "action" . . .one of the rectifier safety board fuses inside the amp may have blown. These are two small slow blow 200 milli-Amp fuses and a single 6.5 Amp small slow blow fuse. Take the screws off holding the top plate to the base and flip the amp over and you'll immediately see these fuses.

HR-1,ZTPRE,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod,Taboo MkIV;Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD,P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls,Reference spkrcbls;Mapleshade SamsonV3;VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones:Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1
  IP Logged
Melvin
Ex Member