03/28/24 at 11:29:43 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Schiit Freya+ preamp (Read 6198 times)
danielehrenworth
Verified Member

Schiit Freya+ preamp
09/16/21 at 02:59:09

Hey dudes. Thinking about getting a preamp to match with the Rachael amp and was wondering if anyone here has had any experience with the Schiit Freya+?  Would love to hear any insights or suggestions. Of course I would love to get the CSP3 but sadly I don’t want to wait a year for it.  My setup at the moment is as follows…

Rega RP8  turntable + Apheta 2
Gold Note PH10 Phono stage w/ PSU 10
Schiit Bifrost 2 DAC
BlueSound Node 2 streamer
Decware Rachael amp
Klipsch Heresy IV speakers

IP Logged
DPC
Ex Member

Re: Schiit Freya+ preamp
Reply #1 - 09/16/21 at 10:55:49

Howdy Dan.  Although I have no experience with the Schit preamp.  But, I can tell you that a preamp will add flexibility and gain to your already excellent system.

For years I have been using a MacMini, Teac DAC with my Rachael and was very happy.  Last year I added the CXN-V2, CSP and a ZROCK2 25th.  The additions have been amazing!  It's an endgame for me!

Watch the classifieds as CSP's do come up once in a while.  One just sold yesterday.

Dennis

IP Logged
danielehrenworth
Verified Member

Reply #2 - 09/16/21 at 15:16:40

Thanks for the reply.  I suppose another question I had was preamp vs. EQ.  There is also the option of adding the Schiit Lokius EQ tone control to the mix which will provide more targeted flexibility to the mix (as well as some gain). What would the advantages of the Freya+ be over the Lokius EQ?

IP Logged
Lin
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 09/16/21 at 18:41:27

How would you incorporate the Lokius?
Do you only use one source?
The Lokius does not provide any gain (unless you count boosting all 6 bands).

IP Logged
Cuff
Verified Member

Reply #4 - 09/21/21 at 03:26:22

Hey Dan: