Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/25/24 at 02:52:31 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Information needed on original SE34I (Read 1923 times)
Dylan
Verified Member

Information needed on original SE34I
08/09/21 at 14:39:22

Hello!
Complete newb here,
I have been very fortunate enough to pick up an original SE34I. I have been trying to find as much information on it as i can but am coming up a little short. I still cant find the white paper of the original anywhere. Through one of the posts here I was able to find out that you can roll KT77's into them. So I was curious since it is self biasing if you could potentially run both EL34's and KT77's at the same time in either series or alternating order. Now I have found little information about this or if it's potentially harmful other than regarding guitar amps which seems doable. Does anyone have any information on this amp at all? or a copy of the original white paper on it? The manual still confuses me so you are really dealing with someone new. I am still learning the terminology of it all but Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!

IP Logged
EdwardT
Seasoned Member

Re: Information needed on original SE34I
Reply #1 - 08/09/21 at 15:12:22

I have a SE34I.4 and it is a totally different amp so my best guess is you’re better off contacting Steve directly for a detailed answer.

IP Logged
Brian
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 08/10/21 at 04:07:11

Hello Kedros!

Here are some statements from Steve I have collected.

The original SE34I had the option of running 2 or 4 output tubes and a variety of switches that gave the user control over the signature of the amp.  When using all 4 output tubes in it's paralleled configuration the amp gave a healthy six watts per channel into 8 ohms.  However, in it's series configuration using all 4 tubes the power was reduced to around 2.5 watts per channel, but with tons of headroom.