03/28/24 at 22:12:08 

Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
New Torii MK V (Read 10806 times)
Kirk
Verified Member

Re: New Torii MK V
Reply #100 - 08/07/21 at 17:58:58

Hey CAJames.  Not necessarily looking for more watts.  I am relatively new to this game and still recovering from the shock and awe of SET+Khorns in my room.  I am mad at myself for missing out on this sound for far too long.  

I am coming off of a solid state amp connected to bookshelf speakers.  I should have made this plunge long ago. Can't help but wonder is there still more being left on the table?  Would a Torii or ZMA take me to yet another place?

(writing this and was just startled by Lindsey Buckingham's guitar on Never Going Back Again  wow)

SE84UFO2, CSP3, ZP3/ZMC2, Klipsch Jubilees, ZLC, Cambridge Audio CXN V2 (Modwright), Rega Planar 3, Ortofon Quintet Blue MC, GR-Research and Decware cables
  IP Logged
Dana
Seasoned Member

Reply #101 - 08/07/21 at 18:54:10

I too just discovered the corner horn UFO connection. It is magical

Tom Waits:
And the newspapers were fooling,
And the ash-trays have retired
'Cause the piano has been drinking,
The piano has been drinking
The piano has been drinking,
Not me, not me, not me, not me, not me
  IP Logged
CAJames
Seasoned Member

"I've run every
red light on memory
lane."

Reply #102 - 08/07/21 at 19:32:11

Hey Kirk,

If it really isn't about watts then I would say this (although others are much better equipped to go into detail than me): the higher power push-pull amps are different, but certainly not "better." Some prefer the PP sound while but others of us prefer the SET sound. It think it is fair to say with the right speakers the SETs are the last word in speed and transparency and frequency extension so if that is what you are looking for I don't think you can do better than what you have now, except see below. But there are plenty of threads throughout the forums on those differences.