Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 16:43:33 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Can Mini Torii be used as preamp? (Read 3577 times)
drumrev
Verified Member

Can Mini Torii be used as preamp?
07/08/21 at 01:30:56

Hello -- new owner of used Mini Torii. I'm a tube newbie, sure to be asking naive questions. I see that Steve describes using the Mini Torii in biamping applications via the RCA outputs.

Can the Mini Torii be used safely as a standalone preamp? I think the answer is no, but would like to confirm.

Thanks!

IP Logged
Geno
Seasoned Member

Without music, life
would be a mistake.

Re: Can Mini Torii be used as preamp?
Reply #1 - 07/08/21 at 16:24:05

Hi drum,

Here are features of the Mini Torii listed straight from the website:

6V6 single-ended design giving around 5 watts
Point-to-Point wiring with no circuit boards
Tube rectification for each channel using 6CA4/EZ90
Output-stage regulation using OA3's
Input-stage regulation using OC2's
Dual volume controls
8.5 inches x 11 inches x 5 inches
Requires NO preamp
Input for 2 sources
Variable Line Level Output jacks
Treble adjustment with bypass
Adjustable feedback to control presence
Our Proprietary UFO wide-band output transformers
Easy to move around
High-mass, powder-coated steel chassis
Solid hardwood base with wood options
Enhanced tube life
Self-biasing - nothing to set or adjust
LO and HI impedance speaker switch
Cryo-treated Beeswax caps
Highest-grade internals
Output tube compatibility facilitates custom voicing

(2)SE84UFO(Balanced Monoblocs) OR Sansui AU-222
Crown sub amp
Cambridge Audio CXN(ModWright) • ZBIT
SL-1210MK5(KAB Mods) Soundsmith Aida MKll cart • Darlington Labs MP-7
Otari MX5050-Bll2 R2R
ZLC Power Cond.
Lii Audio PT-10/W-15 in open baffles
  IP Logged
chapsjon
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 07/09/21 at 19:27:19