Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/23/24 at 18:02:21 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Question about Super Zen vs Rachael (Read 2343 times)
derekinla
Verified Member

Question about Super Zen vs Rachael
06/11/21 at 02:18:08

Newbie here. I currently have an Elac Debut bookshelf, a Yamaha solid state amp, and a Cambridge Soundworks subwoofer with 6 drivers in a sealed boxer design.

I am plan on getting a Klipsch RP-8000F tower with reported sensitivity of 92 dB (although Klipsch claims 98 dB). I do mostly 2 channel listening in a medium sized room with speakers that go within a few feet of a corner next to a media console where my TV sits. I listen to mostly classical, pop, rock in the <90 ish dB range (probably most < 80 dB) but also enjoy using my speakers for the occasional home movie with 2.1 sound.

1) What is the sonic differences between the 2.3W Super Zen and the 5-6W Rachael? Since they are both single ended triode amps, I presume they will be fairly similar.
2) Let's say I'm listening to something at an average volume of 75 dB, would there be any differences in dynamics between the two amps? Does the extra 3-4 watts translate to anything audible or palpable
3) Am I correct in assuming that since the Rachael is 5-6 watts, I'm getting an extra 3dB of potential volume over the Super Zen? In the case of the Klipsch with a 92db sensitivity, I presume I may get up to 98 dB (depending on room placement, listening position) over the Super Zen topping out at 95 dB or so?
4) I am leaning toward Rachael with the variable output to connect to a sub for watching movies. Any feedback on how well this work?

Thanks!  :)

IP Logged
EdwardT
Seasoned Member

Re: Question about Super Zen vs Rachael
Reply #1 - 06/11/21 at 12:45:42