Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 17:01:49 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
ZROCK2 vs Schitt Loki? (Read 2123 times)
Wavendon
Verified Member

ZROCK2 vs Schitt Loki?
02/24/21 at 18:20:57

I am a novice at this but would someone please tell me what would be the key differences between using a ZROCK and the Schitt Loki?

Many thanks for your help

Andy

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: ZROCK2 vs Schitt Loki?
Reply #1 - 02/24/21 at 20:04:46

There are many differences as can be seen from comparing the two manufacturers' descriptions.

One important difference is that the ZROCK2 incorporates a gain stage that incrementally increases as the EQ is increased. The other very important difference is that there are two carefully crafted EQ curves to choose from, and they are applied incrementally--you are not adjusting different frequency ranges separately, you are applying one of two curves and also adding gain.

There's also a tube stage in the ZROCK2 and the use of many different brands and more than several different "types" makes for subtle and not-so-subtle tailoring of the overall sound. You can also customize your ZROCK2 with options of coupling caps, a power supply bypass mod, a tube regulation mod, different RCA jacks. . . it's a serious component that is heirloom quality in build (and has a liftetime warranty).

I bought one thinking it would help me with some discs. I ended up using it as the tonal center of my system with very satisfying results, and buying another with the mods for the main system, the original going into my audio and visual system. Then I put together a headphone only system and got another one. . . which has made headphone listening a joy. I personally don't think I'll have a system without one now--in a way it makes you the final mastering engineer of the material, custom fit for your system and room.