Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 23:32:03 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Cryogenic tube treatment (Read 5104 times)
CDN
Verified Member

It is what it is

Cryogenic tube treatment
01/14/21 at 23:45:54

I am a newbie to Decware and just received the Rachael amp. Wow, I am so pleased with the sound it delivers, it is hard to imagine what 6 watts is capable of delivering. This is also my first tube amp, have always stayed away because of perceived tube maintenance issues. All that said, when it comes to replacing tubes, or rolling tubes, what are the opinions about cryogenically treating tubes? I notice that Upscale Audio offers tubes cryo treated for an upcharge. Is that ever worth it? Does it change the sound or the life of the tube? Perhaps this topic has been covered before, but searching the forum did not turn up any posts on cryo treating.

IP Logged
GroovySauce
Seasoned Member

Re: Cryogenic tube treatment
Reply #1 - 01/15/21 at 16:47:37

I bought and used some cryo treated tubes. I really don't know if it made any difference or not. Until I do a test, cryo'd vs non-cryo'd, I'm going to stick to non-cryo'd.

I did have a cryo'd GL 6922 get really noisy, the tube started screeching after a month of use, I could hear it across the room. It was in the inverter socket on the ZMA.  Fluke ? maybe, I don't want to make a sweeping generalization based on one experience.

Maximus NEO TT|ViV Rigid Float TA | Phasemation PP-200 or Hana ML | Sutherland Little Loco MK2 | Innuos ZENith MK3 | LampizatOr GA TRP | EMIA Remote Autoformer | Add-Powr Sorcer x4 | Snake River Audio Cables | PAP Quintet 15 1.6 Voxativ |Torus AVR15|AF Treatment
  IP Logged
Doug
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 01/15/21 at 21:15:22

I’ve used cryo’d tubes and wires since it became the thing to do, but like groovy, I’ve never done a direct comparison.  Is it an audio scam?  I don’t think so, and as long as the up charge is not a wallet killer, I’ll stick with cryo’d.