Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/19/24 at 21:56:14 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How to approach equipment hum problems (Read 781 times)
HockessinKid
Seasoned Member

How to approach equipment hum problems
10/06/20 at 22:27:50

I saw this posted over on Audio Circle where a member was having problems with equipment hum issues. Thought the approach is well reasoned and smart, so I'd thought it wise to share it:

"Electrical Engineer here.  I have extensive experience with power related issues, albeit in industrial environments. Just to be clear I assume you are saying the humming is coming from your electronic devices and not your speakers.   I have a few suggestions you can try.

1.   Take your suspect devices to a friends house or work and see if the devices hum there.  If the hum remains the problem is probably in your gear and not with the power in your house.  If the hum goes way then there is most likely a problem with the power in your house.

2.  Find somebody who is qualified (like an electrician) and owns a DC voltmeter that can be inserted into your power outlet (PLEASE BE CAREFUL!) and see if DC voltage if present.  If DC voltage is present then you have some digging to do.