Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
What are mods? (Read 2807 times)
ANS
Verified Member

What are mods?
10/06/20 at 15:36:37

Hi there,
I am new to Deware.  I just ordered the ZP3 with stock options.  What are mods, when do people order them?  Thanks so much!

IP Logged
GroovySauce
Seasoned Member

Re: What are mods?
Reply #1 - 10/06/20 at 16:09:52

Welcome to the forums! The ZP3 is a great phono.

There are two modifications that you can have done at the factory. First, beeswax caps, this is higher quality capacitors. Second, the 25th anniversary mod is a maxed out power supply.

I have not heard the difference between modded and nonmodded. Everything I've read is the mods take a great amp to the next level.  bottom line if you can, just get the mods and enjoy.

If it's a possibility now, get the mods. If not you will need to send the amp back to the mothership and get upgraded at a later date.

This is a very long tread about the development of the UFO25th, after Steve finished that work of art, transferred the knowledge to his other designs and named them the 25th Anniversary Mods.

https://www.decware.com/cgi-bin/yabb22/YaBB.pl?num=1510887200

Maximus NEO TT|ViV Rigid Float TA | Phasemation PP-200 or Hana ML | Sutherland Little Loco MK2 | Innuos ZENith MK3 | LampizatOr GA TRP | EMIA Remote Autoformer | STL "Super Tube Rectifier" STR-1002 | SRA Cables | PAP Quintet 15 1.6 Voxativ |Torus AVR15
  IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Reply #2 - 10/06/20 at 16:15:21

From the shopping cart you can order the mods, you'll see them at the bottom of the page:

Mods:      
Poly bypass cap mod - adds $140
Beeswax bypass cap mod - adds $420

As you've placed an order you can contact Sarah and she can make a revision to the order for you, and probably explain the mods.