03/29/24 at 03:04:19 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
HR-1s vs ERRx (Read 4066 times)
Tommy Freefall
Seasoned Member

HR-1s vs ERRx
07/26/20 at 19:31:12

I am interested in hearing from anyone who has experience with both the ERRx speakers and the HR-1s, and can clinic me on how these two speakers differ from one another.
I have been running the ERRxs for several years, but have been tempted by its bigger brother for a while now.
Occasionally, I wish I also had a more conventional forward-firing design - the midrange on the ERRxs can be a bit recessed on some material.
Decware’s Zen Masters Series OBs are tempting. And, the DNA2s are tempting as well.
However, I’d rather not have a secondary set of speakers in the space I’m currently using.
The HR-1s with both the radial design AND the front, forward-firing capability should give me the best of both worlds in a single speaker set.
However, selling my ERRxs and buying new HR-1s would not be an inexpensive transaction/upgrade.
And I’m wondering if it would be worth it.
The HR-1s could be an end-game speaker for me.

Torii MkIV w/ 25th ann mods
Rachael SE34I.5
Benchmark AHB2
ERRx
ZStage, ZRock2
Tascam CD-240
Border Patrol DAC
Benchmark DAC3 HGC
Bluesound Node
Zu Audio Mission speaker cables
Decware I/Cs
PI Audio MiniBUSS
Zenhead, Grado 325e
  IP Logged
Archie
Seasoned Member

Re: HR-1s vs ERRx
Reply #1 - 07/26/20 at 19:33:04

Tommy, I've never heard the ERRx but I loved my HR1s.  That is, until I heard the F15 in the big baffle.

ZLC
Technics 1200G TT w/ Ortofon Jubilee MC cart
ZMC1
ZP3 (25th A Mods)
ZR2 (25th A Mods)
CSP3 (25th A mods)
ZMA (25th A mods)
Homemade Big Betsy Speakers (F15s)
Silver Cabling
DIY Isolation platforms under amps & TT.
  IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Reply #2 - 07/26/20 at 20:28:22

Tom,