Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 07:24:27 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
ZROCK with Betsy & Buck (Read 3859 times)
benzxc

ZROCK with Betsy & Buck
11/08/19 at 02:03:06

Hi all,

I am very new to Decware and ordered an SE84UFO a while back - cannot wait to get it and start experiencing what everyone has been raving about!  :D

However, recently I have got my eyes on the ZROCK2.  My loudspeakers are the Betsy & Buck baffles offered by Caintuck Audio (the passive version).  While I am very happy with the sound of the speakers, I do find that the bass is a bit lacking for my tastes, even with the 10 inch Eminence drivers built into the Betsy and Buck baffles.  (Not lacking a lot, just want a little bit more.)  Being the passive version that I bought, I do not have the option of tweeking with the bass volume or crossover point.  Thus, I purchased a subwoofer to alleviate this issue.

While the subwoofer does provide enough bass to compliment the speakers, I am not a huge fan of the sound of the subwoofer.  I am not sure how to put it other than it sounds distracting to me, and even a bit fatiguing at points.  I have been experimenting with both the volume and crossover and just can't seem to find a satisfactory setup.  Thus, I have been looking for a way to get rid of the subwoofer from my system but also get some bass into it... hence the ZROCK2.

From what I read online, there is nothing but rave reviews about the ZROCK2.  However, I just want to make sure that it will be beneficial for my system and purpose.  I know that the Betsy drivers roll off quickly below 80 and the Eminence Alpha 10 rolls off below 60Hz (I think).  Will the ZROCK2 be able to give me the bass below such roll off point? 

Any experience running the ZROCK2 with either the Betsy baffles by themselves, or with a Betsy & Buck baffle?

Thanks all!
Ben

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: ZROCK with Betsy & Buck