Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 18:38:21 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Decware newbie - Torii MkIV / ZP3 advice (Read 7135 times)
vinyltubenewbie
Verified Member

Decware newbie - Torii MkIV / ZP3 advice
05/08/19 at 02:39:50

Hi All! I am planning on updating my system with my first tube component, and after reading so many great things about Decware, I am sold!

I have read through many forum posts here and the buying guide but am still not 100% sure on a few things.

I am very new to this so I would really appreciate any advice. I've just begun upgrading all my audio so am now up to the phono stage and amp.

Speakers
Monitor Audio Gold 200 4G
Sensitivity 89dB 1 watt

Source 1 - Vinyl
Audio Technica AT-LP7
MM  Cart - Output 4mV – 4.5mV

Source 2 - Digital
Marantz ND8006 – mostly 16-bit/44khz

Most of my listening is on vinyl so this is the main priority. But when working/background music is usually ND8060. If the amp will also make the digital source sound nicer that’s just a bonus.

Questions
1.      I am considering the Torii Mk IV but just want to be sure it has enough power to drive my speakers smoothly during dynamic/peak passages in music without clipping. My ideal listening volume is about 85db (90dB for peak passages) (measured via iPhone db meter) so from the buying guide chart it seems to be a good match, but I just wanted to get everyone's thoughts?

2.      I am currently using a Marantz PM7200 Integrated amp (25W Class A solid state) with the built-in phono output of my AT-LP7 record player. I am unsure whether I should get a ZP3 first, and then later adding the Torii MkIV or the other way around? My budget unfortunately doesn’t allow for both right now so would appreciate some guidance.

3.      Anyone know of any resellers/distributors in Australia?

Look forward to hearing back. Thanks in advance!

IP Logged
Colin B
Verified Member

Re: Decware newbie - Torii MkIV / ZP3 advice
Reply #1 - 05/08/19 at 06:27:14