Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/24/24 at 02:18:22 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New, Introduction and request for guidance... (Read 9227 times)
Christine
Verified Member

New, Introduction and request for guidance...
02/23/19 at 18:57:58

Hi all, I am Christine and newish to your world, but not this world. Being later in years, I enjoy the simple pleasures, and for me, one of those is the Blues.

I am a math and physics teacher, nerd, sometime woodworker, and know just enough about circuits and audio to know that I don't know what you all do. However, I appreciate having read the many white papers that are present here and the honesty (that is not wrapped up in marketing) that if I so wanted, I could perhaps build my own Zen-ish amp, apart from your custom coils. Alas, though, I am not so inclined...

Mr. Deckert, I find your amps to be aesthetically beautiful (which is important to me) and their low power also appeals to my ears.

That, all being said, I listen to music in two ways: through a pair of Klipsch Reference 14 bookshelf speakers (they are 90dB - I had to look that up) or a pair of Sony monitor headphones (which Ive had for decades and have no intention of "upgrading" and have no idea on their impedance or sensitivity). Currently my source is a single iPod (actually an old iPhone, I no longer use, except for music). Sorry to the purists among you, I know this is probably sacrilegious. I do have vinyl, but I prefer the cleaner (no-pop) sounds from the iPod.

My "sound room" is my office, and I listen to music quietly in the background when working. I use headphones when I want to tune everything else out and relax. So I guess you could describe my listening room as "near field" as I understand that term. Also I have very limited space for audio equipment, so size is a concern.