Send Topic Print
DIY House Project? (Read 10788 times)
Lonely Raven
Seasoned Member

Jack of all Trades,
Master of None

DIY House Project?
09/27/18 at 17:58:30

I've been busy with work and personal stuff lately - haven't been around much, but felt like posting. I wasn't sure if I should do this in general, but DIY needs more traffic so I'll post it here since it loosely qualifies. LOL

To help pay the bills, I've picked up a part time job building Xovers for a speaker builder I know and am friends with. I'm basically a solder slinger for hire.

I've started tearing up the old, blood stained berber carpet from the living room and dining room, which is also my Home Theater and Listening Room.

And in its place I've put down some "Luxury Vinyl Tile", which is a cork backed, wood-look, embossed vinyl plank that really surprised me with how much it looked like wood...and I'm a casual woodworker that knows and loves a good figured woodgrain. This isn't the greatest stuff, but I'm able to throw down 1000 square feet (basically my whole main floor) for about $2500 including install supplies.

I had to throw in a picture of the couch I repaired (cracked frame and strapping from very large friends *flopping* down into it)  along with my DIY large 21" subwoofer - which needs to be repaired this fall. The sub sounds weak and flubby when it used to literally shake the siding and rattle the soffits on the outside of the house! I currently have an 18" that's crushing this 21", so something is definitely wrong.

I've also been working on my yard...shoveling 3-4 tons of biosolids across my corner lot and planting sod grade grass seed...but that's a story for another day.