Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Music for "Bass Heads"
01/10/18 at 19:48:22

As a musician I was always trying to find a new way to use my bass drum in my kit, and have been fascinated with bass guitars and contra-bass violins, to the point of bleeding fingers and cramped hands. . .

And as a music lover and listener I love recordings with interesting bass sounds and players and know I'm not alone!

I've encountered a cd lately that really has awakened the bass head in me as it is an avant garde/fusion band with two bassists, both playing Fender electric basses, one fretted, one fretless--and the bassists are a very focal point of the music and and an important part of the melodic foundation. I thought I would mention it for those who crave some great bass playing:

Hotel X "Random History of the Avant Groove"

These are musicians from Richmond, VA who don't take themselves too seriously. .. don't have the world's greatest chops, but have fun and know what a groove should be. Fun, spirited, accessible music. And lots of wild bass playing!

Another record I've come back to for the bass playing since '72 when I first heard it is Miles Davis "Bitches Brew." This double album features Harvey Brooks on electric bass guitar (a fine rock bassist, steady as a rock) and Dave Holland on contrabass violin (and I believe on electric bass guitar in a few spots). Again many melodies are built from and anchored by the bassists and the playing is extraordinary.

I probably have more copies of this recording than any other as I keep buying it to get closer to the performances in sonic wonder.

Then there's Charles Mingus "Mingus Ah Um" . . . . Mingus was a minefield as a band leader and person but a genius composer and a master bass player. His bass work on this album has astonished me and I keep marveling at both his dexterity . . . and his creativity at crafting bass lines and structuring solos and accompaniment.