03/28/24 at 22:42:54 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Weird voltages (Read 30072 times)
13stoploss
Verified Member

Weird voltages
01/15/17 at 05:48:37

I'm an amateur. I've never used a multimeter before. The one I bought is nice enough, does a bunch of automatic stuff, has tons of great reviews on Amazon. I flipped the switch to DC, like it says in instructions. A/B/C/DD aren't exactly marked, so I put the black lead on the chassis ground and the red lead to the cap/resistor holes closest to where the instructions say to put them. I got:

A: 448 (346 =/- 10)
B: 443 (309 +/- 10)
C: 0.00 (10.25 =/- 2)
D: .62 (2.60 +/- .5)
D: 0.00 (2.60 +/- .5)

zenkit wired by Jason

The tubes are in and lit, and the amp has a very slight hum--it's very, very quiet. I have no idea what any of this means. I went slow, have good solder joints, no bridges, but I don't know what to do.

Help?

IP Logged
Core32
Seasoned Member

Re: Weird voltages
Reply #1 - 01/15/17 at 15:02:10

The fact there is very little drop from A to B is concerning for sure.
In the schematic I am looking at I do not see test points C and D.
Be very careful around these voltages of course, but measure with the meter on DC both sides of the large 1K 5W resistor.
Also, based on where your audio input volume control is turned, points "D" can read zero volts.
Turn both of those to approximately the mid point before measuring again.

IP Logged
dank
Seasoned Member

pair of dual 18
Imperials

Reply #2 - 01/15/17 at 15:07:46

1)  Take your meter, switch it to AC (volts), and measure the heater voltage on all three of your tubes pin 4 to pin 5.  You should get 6.3 or so.

2)  CAREFULLY measure the line voltage powering your power transformer, you should get 120.  This will also prove your meter works and your leads are hooked up correctly.

3)  switch your meter back to DC