Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/24/24 at 02:18:54 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
4 ohm or 8 ohm driver selection? (Read 5027 times)
Corey
Seasoned Member

4 ohm or 8 ohm driver selection?
09/17/16 at 05:51:03

I just bought Lon's DalAudio Retro 3886 amp.  The specs state its power at .1% THD+N from 20-20,000 hz with the following :

8 ohm driver : 38 watts per channel
4 ohm driver : 68 watts per channel

Silver Flute makes the 8" wool cone driver in both 4 or 8 ohm.  Which would you recommend I get?

This DalAudio amp sure looks like it would remain very stable into 4 ohms so perhaps I should just go for more power and get the 4 ohm model?

Any thoughts or advice appreciated!

Corey  :)

WWW   IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: 4 ohm or 8 ohm driver selection?
Reply #1 - 09/17/16 at 12:41:00

Glad you got the amp safe and sound Corey, and though I'm no expert I think the 4 ohm will work admirably. You may want to drop DAL Audio an email, they were pretty responsive when I was researching that amp.

HR-1,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod; Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD, DAC Mk II, P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls, Reference spkrcbls; Mapleshade SamsonV3; VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones: Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1
  IP Logged
Corey
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 09/18/16 at 18:16:02

Thanks for the reply Lon!

Hey, this amp has no volume control. Oh well, I guess that's a good thing because now I HAVE to get a ZBox!  I am going to go with the NOS Allen-Bradley 47K resistors for the cathode/anode's and Riken Ohm for the loading.  I just want it to sound golden this time around and when dealing with solid-state, every bit helps for warmth and glow.  8-)

Cor

WWW   IP Logged
Corey
Seasoned Member

Reply #3 - 09/18/16 at 18:19:53