04/19/24 at 12:39:07 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Damping factor (Read 15487 times)
Ned
Verified Member

Damping factor
07/26/16 at 22:01:54

I'm wondering what the damping factor is for this amp. Is this the right place to ask? That spec isn't given on the Rachael web page.

IP Logged
Lin
Ex Member

Re: Damping factor
Reply #1 - 07/27/16 at 14:22:19

It would be low because: ZERO negative feedback used

http://www.butleraudio.com/damping1.php

IP Logged
hdrider
Seasoned Member

On the path with
Decware.

Reply #2 - 07/27/16 at 19:12:22

Good question and it never crossed my mind when I ordered our Rachael amp. I kind of gave up on the spec game when I proved to myself that Steve's Zen path was the way to go for us. George Augspurger is a well known name in acoustics/pro-sound world and I think he knows of what he speaks. I can vouch for the fact that our Rachael drives and controls our Omega 7XRS amazingly well. As a bassist I am a little OCD on the amount, tone and texture of that end of the spectrum. What speakers are you thinking of driving with a Rachael? Happy listening, Chris.

CSP3, Rachael, ZP3, ZMC 1, Sony ES Bluray, Schitt Bitfrost DAC,Sota Star TT w/ FR-64, Hana SL Low Output Moving coil, Omega 7XRS Mk 2 walnut, DeepOmega 8 sub, Morrow Audio PH3 and MA3 IC's, Gamma Electrostatic phones.
  IP Logged
Denizen
Verified Member

Reply #3 - 07/27/16 at 19:44:20

And output transformers, so low damping factors.

IP Logged
Ned
Verified Member

Reply #4 - 07/28/16 at 00:49:18

I realize it will be low, even very low because of zero negative feedback. It may also relate to the output transformer and factors related to it, among other things(such as the resistance of the speaker cables). But is the damping factor for the Rachael known? Could it be as low as 2 or 3?