Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 16:11:20 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Is my Output transformer good for the ZKit? (Read 3841 times)
Diego
Verified Member

Is my Output transformer good for the ZKit?
05/27/16 at 21:34:59

Dear all,

I'm a newbie in this forum. So, please forgive me for any (too) basic question, and be free to link me to any existing posts concerning similar topics.

I have a pair of output transformer Hammond 1628SE, and would like to know whether I can use them into a ZKit1 instead of the EM406, and, if this is the case, whether I have to modify anything in the circuitry.

The characteristics of the transformers are:
- Primary impedance: 5000 Ohms
- Inductance 48 H
- Max DC bias: 120 ma
- Secondary Impedence: 4-8-16

My loudspeakers are full range Audio Nirvana Standard 8" into a 1.3 cabinet enclosure, with around 96db efficiency

I bought these OT almost 15 years ago for a different ampli project, for different (lower efficient) speakers, but I never had time to built it. Now, having these new speakers, I would much prefer to go for the Zen, and wonder whether I can use such OTs, which I think are of good quality (they costed to me pretty much, at least in my young memories...)

Thanks a lot for the answer!

Diego (from Madrid, Spain)

IP Logged
Steve Deckert
Administrator

If the 1st watt
sucks why continue?

Re: Is my Output transformer good for the ZKit?
Reply #1 - 05/28/16 at 04:55:43

The Zen Triode design used a 9800 ohm primary against a 6 ohm secondary giving it the ability to drive super low impedances.  

For example since impedance is reflected, hooking a 3 or 4 ohm speaker load to the amp would drop the primary impedance from 9800 to around 5K.  This pulls more power from the EL84 and 6P15P-EV output tubes the amp is designed around.

The amp is famous for it's ability to drive even 2 ohm loudspeakers without loosing it.