Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 19:54:44 

Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Taking a shot at building the ZKIT1 (Read 85276 times)
martin

Taking a shot at building the ZKIT1
02/15/16 at 12:16:19

Hi - I'm a newbie here and pretty much to electronics.  I'm really glad I stumbled across Decware.  After looking for a DIY project, I decided to have a go at doing an SE84CDIY (same as the ZKIT1, right?) without the circuit board.  I'll have things I'll need to ask about as I go, I'm sure.  But right now the main thing is that I can't find (from the parts list)  Nichicon Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitors - Leaded 450volts 33uF 18x41 20% anywhere.  Can I get suggestions for finding them (I'd rather not have to order from overseas, but...?)?  And if they're just not to be found, how about substitutions?  Thanks!

IP Logged
Core32
Seasoned Member

Re: Taking a shot at building the SE84CDIY
Reply #1 - 02/15/16 at 12:57:24

Good luck on your build.
Digikey and Mouser both list the part you are asking about but both show very long lead times to get them.
There's really nothing special about the Nichicon version so it really depends on your layout and whether you want axial or radial cans with leads or eye termials, etc. Lots of options as far as connections are concerned.
Personally I used one like this:
https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/C-EC32-32-500
It has two 32uF caps at 500V in the same package. So if you need two caps it becomes very space friendly.
This one is a dual 16uF can with axial leads that can be tied together to form a single 32uF if you only need one: https://www.tubesandmore.com/products/C-ET16-16-500FT

I use that tubesandmore web site for a lot of my DIY build parts.
This is another good web site for DIY tube items:
http://www.partsconnexion.com/capacitor_ele_all.html

IP Logged
martin

Reply #2 - 02/16/16 at 04:14:05