Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/24/24 at 11:13:06 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Tubes, tubes and more tubes ... (Read 11827 times)
beowulf
Seasoned Member

Tubes, tubes and more tubes ...
09/23/15 at 00:29:24

Hi All, even though I've been rocking Decware amps for more than a few years now I really haven't been tube rolling all that much.  Recently I came into a $hit load of tubes from the awesome dude on these forums known as Pale Rider.  I'd like to try and sort out these tubes by the Decware amps that they will work with, but there seems to be some confusion (mostly on my part more than anything) because I just don't get all the naming conventions and it seems like one tube may go by more than a couple different names (heck, even some of the boxes that the tubes came in say something different than what's printed on the tubes), so any help would be much appreciated!

I was wondering if I posted them here (with pictures) maybe some of you tube gurus can tell me what they are and which amps they will work with?  Also, if anybody else has tubes and they don't know what they are or amps/preamps they'll work with they are welcome to post them in this thread as well.  I thought it could be really helpful to create a bible of some sort.

I will try to make a couple posts each day with as much info that I have on each tube and until I've gone through my entire inventory of about 92 tubes.  There's mainly 7 things that I'm looking for, (but if anybody else can think of important things to add please do so):

1. What Decware amps and/or preamps they will work with.
2. Other known alias/designations.
3. Years they were produced.
4. Country of origin.
5. Tube's position within an amp/preamp (i.e. rectifier, etc.).
6. What your impressions are of the tube's performance (if you have used it in one of your amps).
7. What they may be worth $$.

What say you ... can you help a fellow Decware brother out?

IP Logged
beowulf
Seasoned Member