Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/19/24 at 00:10:46 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Help new guy to tubes (Read 27835 times)
Urbs
Verified Member

Help new guy to tubes
04/03/15 at 15:58:16

Hello,
I've been reading for months on different amplifiers.  I decided on Decware and I'm looking between the mini Tori and the Racheal.  I will be using Omega super Alnico monitors.  This is a ground up two channel system.  I'm brand new to tubes so I'm looking for your all opinions please.  I can't decide  :-X

IP Logged
Lonely Raven
Seasoned Member

Jack of all Trades,
Master of None

Re: Help new guy to tubes
Reply #1 - 04/03/15 at 16:56:57

I have some experience with the 2 watt Zen (I own) the Rachel (friend owns) Torii 3 (friend owns) Torri 4 (played with at Decware) and the Zen Mystery Amp (I own) - and I love efficient, super simple speakers like the Omega stuff.

IMO - both amps will work well with that speaker. It's 8ohms and 93db.

I feel the Rachel is a bit silkier, smoother amp - but the Torii has a little more horsepower and therefor flexibility in the future. If it were me, I'd spring for the Torii and know that I have an amp that will work with a much wider variety of speakers in the future. If I were on a tight budget and couldn't find a good deal on used Torii, the Rachel is a great amp, but I could see me moving up to a Torii in the future and relegating the Rachel to second system, or reselling it.

Even though you might not use that extra wattage the Torri has, it gives you more flexibility and headroom. Both are great things to have in reserve.  :)

WWW Lonely Raven   IP Logged
Ace-Tone
Seasoned Member

8+ years with
Decware gear and
Loving it!!!

Reply #2 - 04/03/15 at 17:02:55