04/19/24 at 18:57:28 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Impedance Switch (Read 20249 times)
roggae
Seasoned Member

Impedance Switch
06/20/14 at 23:26:32

so i have read a few things about Impedance but i'm still really confused.  what is the optimal setting i want to use on my amp if i am using zu audio Omens as my speakers?  they are 12 ohms.  my amp is wired for 8-16 ohms.  

IP Logged
mark58
Seasoned Member

Re: Impedance Switch
Reply #1 - 06/20/14 at 23:51:49

I'm no technical expert but I know one of the two choices will sound better...more dynamic.  Since your speakers are right in between, I doubt their is a right answer.  Your ears will have to tell you which is right for you.  Mark.

"The man that hath no music in himself, nor is not moved with the concord of sweet sounds, is fit for treasons, deceptions, and spoils;
The motions of his spirit are dull as night and his affections dark as Hell. Let no such man be trusted." William Shakespeare
  IP Logged
Lord Soth
Seasoned Member

I'm an American
BadAss!

Reply #2 - 06/21/14 at 03:33:49

Mark is right.

Just go ahead and experiment to see which setting your prefer.

Based on my own practical experience, a couple of ohms difference either way is still safe for your audio equipment.

IP Logged
roggae
Seasoned Member

Reply #3 - 06/21/14 at 22:28:01

so the difference i'll notice is in dynamics?

IP Logged
Lord Soth
Seasoned Member

I'm an American
BadAss!

Reply #4 - 06/22/14 at 06:32:08

At one of the settings, the bass will be tighter .

IP Logged
roggae
Seasoned Member

Reply #5 - 06/26/14 at 14:23:52

think i got it figured out.  i have the impedance switch set for the lower ohms and the bass switches off.  now my question is about the treble adjustments.  which way is off?  also the Reconstructive Feedback Switch - is this ONLY to remedy whistling or does this affect the sound as well?  it's hard for me to tell...thanks for your info guys.

IP Logged
mark58
Seasoned Member

Reply #6 - 06/26/14 at 17:24:52