Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 00:25:17 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Zen clone from Sweden (Read 19129 times)
Peter
Verified Member

Zen clone from Sweden
04/27/14 at 22:10:28

Hi all! I stumbled onto decwares website some time in the late 90's and got really interested in the zen. Though I never ordered one it was always there everytime I started thinking about tube amps. This winter i started ordering parts to build a zkit1, but that quickly changed into building a se84c with tube rectifier. No circuit board or breadboard, just p2p. This is my first build, so I built the box a little bigger than neccessary, its about ten inches wide and maybe 12 deep, plus some place for the trannies.

My biggest fear was to get lots of hum. But first power up went really well, nothing went wrong, and at least with the speakers I have used so far, there is no audible hum. Will soon try it with my bigger, more efifficent speakers

And what a great little amp it is. It's sitting in my rack with just 10-20 hours on it and it just sounds better and better as things continue to burn in. The midrange is fast and very detailed just as it should be.

I decided to go all russian on the tubes. I will post pics later.

My warmest Thank you to Steve for sharing his design so I could build this little amplifier, this is serious stuff.

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Zen clone from Sweden
Reply #1 - 04/27/14 at 22:59:55

Awesome! I admire your skill to put one together and so well first time out. I'm glad you are enjoying it!

HR-1,ZTPRE,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod,Taboo MkIV;Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD,P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls,Reference spkrcbls;Mapleshade SamsonV3;VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones:Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1
  IP Logged
Peter
Verified Member

Reply #2 - 04/28/14 at 16:03:14