Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 09:33:53 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Ideal headphones for CSP-3? (Read 6713 times)
metropolis7
Seasoned Member

Ideal headphones for CSP-3?
03/18/14 at 20:20:53

I realize this question is a bit of egg-before-the-chicken, but here goes: What are some great matching headphones for the CSP3's OTL amp? I have some low imp. Grados which simply aren't cutting the mustard. Sennheiser perhaps, but the consensus is that they are a bit too tame for rock music. Is there a particular impedance range I should be looking at?

IP Logged
busterfree
Seasoned Member

Re: Ideal headphones for CSP-3?
Reply #1 - 03/20/14 at 06:04:28

The product page says headphones from 32-600 Ohm. I have not used many different brands so hopefully others will chime in.

I use the AKG 702 with my CSP3, and I like it. Before that, I had the AKG 701.

IP Logged
deucekazoo
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 03/20/14 at 16:04:43

I am not a headphone expert but I don't think the CSP3 is good for low imp. headphones. I have 50 ohm modified Fostex and did not care for the sound on the CSP3. Now my headphones were a match made in heaven on the Taboo amp.

IP Logged
Lord Soth
Seasoned Member

I'm an American
BadAss!

Reply #3 - 05/18/14 at 08:08:00

From my own experience, the Beyerdynamic T1 or DT880 work very well with the CSP3.

As long as you at paring it with a high impedance headphone ( I.e. 300 or 600 ohms), it should sound great .

IP Logged
Archie
Seasoned Member

Reply #4 - 01/14/15 at 23:32:45