Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/19/24 at 17:01:14 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New guy here with a few questions (Read 8408 times)
travis jennemann
Verified Member

New guy here with a few questions
02/21/14 at 14:07:06

So after spending the last week of my life reading just about every thread in the WO32 and Wicked One support threads, I have decided that the WO32 is the way I should go. (correct me if I am wrong)

A little back story I compete in car audio competitions and after a 10yr retirement I am ready to get back in the lanes. So I have decided to build a style of this box, EXCEPT my dimension limits are 36" wide buy 27" deep by 14" tall, all exterior dimensions. to fit in the cargo area of my blazer and be under the window line (rules I have to maintain)

Since I am a mechanical designer I reverse engineered the lines and interior bracing to suit my dimensional requirements.

I will be running (2) 12" DC LVL 3 subs.

My questions is does anybody see a problem with me reducing the width of the box to 27". Although I am going for a good sound I am going for a MAX SPL reading.  I will be running 2 classes. one with 500 watts to the subs, and one with 1000 watts to the subs.

unfortunately all my photo hosting sites are blocked at work so I will post up a few pictures of the design I have come up with later tonight. This is all going inside a 1994 GMC Jimmy. The design will be made of solid maple, stained black, and will have a 3/4" plexiglass top to show off the subs and box design.

Most competitors just use a rectangle box with a 6" port and don't put any care about the install, well with a design as beautiful as this how can someone not show off everything.

any advice and criticism will be taken into account since I have never attempted a box of this caliper. luckily once the design is complete I have access to a cabinet building shop to cut everything to the exact specs I require.

IP Logged
deucekazoo
Seasoned Member