Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 10:46:31 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Can Decware Speakers Drive Electrostatic Headphone (Read 6002 times)
Rotijon
Verified Member

Can Decware Speakers Drive Electrostatic Headphone
08/11/13 at 18:32:45

Hey,

i'm pretty new here, so if this is at the wrong area do correct me or move it. Thanks

I have not owned any decware products(Unfortunately) as i am currently a student and am using the stax for my desktop listening. But listening and reading on all the reviews of decware items, i am very eager to try it.

Is it possible for the taboo to be used to drive the Stax Sr-009? and can anyone here who have electrostatics give me a brief breakdown on the differences?

Thank you for reading.
Cheers.
Jon

IP Logged
DPC
Ex Member

Re: Can Decware Speakers Drive Electrostatic Headphone
Reply #1 - 08/11/13 at 22:50:07

Hey Rotijon,

Welcome, You ask a very interesting question.  Stax ear speakers are on my wish list.  My kit includes the Decware SE341.3 Rachael that I would/wish to power them.

Now, for the learned to advise us.

Dennis

IP Logged
Rizlaw
Seasoned Member

Re: Can Decware Speakers Drive Electrostatic Headphone
Reply #2 - 08/12/13 at 05:15:23

Jon,

I own Stax Lambda Pro's with the SRM-1 Pro Amp as well as the CSP+ and Taboo III, so I have some experience with this question. Currently, my Stax equipment is boxed up and ready for sale.

Quote:
Is it possible for the taboo to be used to drive the Stax Sr-009?

The answer is NO, not directly.  As you know, the voltages required by electrostatic headphones are very high. Decware amp's are not designed to drive electrostatic headphones directly. Also, electrostatic headphones have a special type of connector (not a phono or XLR type) which is not compatible with standard stereo amps, including Decware amps.