Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
7DJ8/PCC88 usage (Read 966 times)
V-Duh
Verified Member

7DJ8/PCC88 usage
04/12/13 at 18:36:00

Hello all,
I've noticed a number of people have used 7DJ8/PCC88 tubes in their Torii MKIII, SE84CKC, CSP2+, and other amps with good success.  Is their any reason to not try a 7DJ8/PCC88 in the Taboo MKIII?  My swag is that the circuitry design with respect to tube substitution would not be significantly different.  I am new to tube rolling so any input would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks much

Mac Mini + Channel D Pure Music || Audio gd DAC-19 DSP || M.A.D. LR-1 || Decware Taboo MKIII / Meier Audio Analog Corda Opera / Woo Audio WA7 || AKG 702 / Denon AH-D5000 / Grado SR225 / Headphile Black Palm VXD3 / Sennheiser HD600 / Audeze LCD-3 (soon) || BJC ICs
  IP Logged
Rivieraranch
Seasoned Member

Re: 7DJ8/PCC88 usage
Reply #1 - 04/13/13 at 03:07:17

You can try it. Doing so won't harm anything. If it sounds good then go with it.

MINI TORII & ZROCK2 both anniversaried; 'Lil Audio F-15; TECHNICS SL1200MK2 KAB MODDED TT; ONKYO 6 DISC CD; MARANTZ 2226B; SCHIIT MULTIBIT DAC; SENNHEISER HD-580s
55   IP Logged
will
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 04/13/13 at 18:27:49

Here is a quote from Kevin at Upscale Audio:

"A PCC88 is a 7-volt filament version of the 6.3-volt filament ECC88.  Aside from the difference in filament voltage, the two tubes are the same.  That means, no problem-o, bitchin’ sound, and less money.  There is never an issue substituting these into any 6DJ8/6922 position."

Quote from Brent Jessee:

"It is virtually identical to the 6DJ8 except for the heater rating, which is 7 volts. ............You may want to try a 7DJ8 for the longer heater life in a 6.3 volt circuit, and the lower price!"

I use them a lot in my Torii and was planning to see what they sound like in the Taboo once mine comes....which is soon!

You could always call Steve if you remain concerned.