Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 16:20:49 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
NEW SETUP - BUILT IN SHELVES (Read 13568 times)
Rivieraranch
Seasoned Member

NEW SETUP - BUILT IN SHELVES
02/29/12 at 00:46:36

The rubber wheels on the old audio rack gave out. They were crumbling into ugly black chunks every time I would try and move the thing. I had been using it since 2005. New wheels would have cost more than I wanted to pay. So I decided to make some shelves attached to the wall.

Each shelf is 16 inches deep and 48 inches wide. I could have made the boards 52 inches wide, which is the width of the window but in the end I decided I only needed 48 inches. I stained the boards with the wall paint and ragged the excess off so the wood grain would show through. Three coats of polyurethane later they are very durable. The boards are attached with heavy duty metal supports to three two by fours, which in turn are attached with Tapcon screws to the concrete inside the wall. This thing is not ever coming down.  

This enables me to use the turntable more since it is more easily accessible.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

MINI TORII & ZROCK2 both anniversaried; 'Lil Audio F-15; TECHNICS SL1200MK2 KAB MODDED TT; ONKYO 6 DISC CD; MARANTZ 2226B; SCHIIT MULTIBIT DAC; SENNHEISER HD-580s
55   IP Logged
Fireblade
Seasoned Member

Knowledge comes, but
wisdom lingers.
A.L.Tennyson

Re: NEW SETUP - BUILT IN SHELVES
Reply #1 - 02/29/12 at 01:41:44

Good work, Rivieraranch!  Looks nice and sturdy.  Is one of your amps missing in these pictures? Congrats!

Toshiba-Foobar2K-ASIO Direct-WD 2.0Tb HDD-Schiit USB cable-Schiit Yggdrasil DAC-Decware Silver Ref IC's-Decware Mini Torii SE-8PR Kimber Kable spkr cbls-Decware DM945's-Tekton Lore 2-Velodyne DLS 3500 SUB-BJC SUB Cbls-Tripp Lite 500 Isolation Trnsf-Jellyfish S
  IP Logged
Rivieraranch
Seasoned Member

Reply #2 - 02/29/12 at 12:33:33

SE84C+ is at office.