04/25/24 at 23:52:24 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
18" scaling? (Read 3465 times)
Jeremy
Ex Member

18" scaling?
02/18/12 at 05:41:00

I went and did it.... I bought the best 18" speakers I could find for the money and I purchased 2 of them. So there is no turning back now.

Here are the theile numbers.

Electrical Q Value -Qes: 0.476
Mechanical Q Value -Qms: 3.214
Total Speaker Q Value -Qts: 0.415
Free Air Resonance -Fs: 16.742 Hz
Equivalent Compliance -Vas: 384 liters
One-Way, Linear Excursion -Xmax: 22 mm
Efficiency -SPL 1W/1m: 87.65 dB SPL
Effective Piston Area -Sd: 1210 cm^2
DC Resistance -Re: 1.4 ohm
Nominal Impedance -Znom: Dual 1 ohm
Thermal Power Handling -Pe: 1500 W
Force Factor -Bl: 14.56

I really need some help, I have never built a speaker box before. I am a contractor and have all the tool but never had to do any math like this. I purchased the hwk15 plans and just need help getting started.

I plan on using 1" mdf for the construction and it I can get away with a 24" wide box I may add a layer of 3/4" mdf to help cut back on potential losses. I am prepared for the 400lbs it will weigh. Any help guys on actual dimension running these 2  18"s both pointing up on there own baffle?

IP Logged
Jeremy
Ex Member

Re: 18" scaling?
Reply #1 - 02/19/12 at 02:24:23

Well I I guess I will get my 5 messages in my own thread. From all the box calcs I could do today calls for a port the size of the top of the enclosure. I read some of the past constructions threads running into this same phenomenon. They had better sound with the top off the box. Did I screw up purchasing these plans?

Time will tell....

IP Logged
Jeremy
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 02/19/12 at 04:06:54

Well quite a few hours later I have determined that for this to be a true house/home wrecker it needs to be 21 cubic feet with my selected drivers. Nearly a flat response from 40-20hz and only losing 15db by the time I hit 10hz.