Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/18/24 at 07:56:41 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Steve Deckert's listening room #3 (Read 15377 times)
Steve Deckert
Administrator

If the 1st watt
sucks why continue?

Steve Deckert's listening room #3
08/13/11 at 04:13:10

My most current room and the main room I've been using for the past 5 years still remains uncompleted.  Every time I think I'm going to finish it, I blink and another year has passed.

So rather than waiting forever, I thought I'd just dig out some old photos and give those who've not been here an idea what the room is like.

Aprox 17 x 27 with a cathedral ceiling it has been designed to take advantage of every opportunity... remember this was an empty steel pole barn when I started.  That's basically 4 x 6 posts with 2 x 6 horizontal nailers every 2 feet with steel siding screwed to it.  Holly crap....   In my case, we added dense foil faced 1 inch foam to the entire building and taped all the seams to make it air tight before the steel siding went on.  After that was done, a train car of 1 inch high density particle board with vinyl face went on the inside creating an air space between the foam board and the heavy particle board of 1.5 inches.  The particle board was used to manufacture Cerwin Vega Loudspeakers.

The 1 inch panels were 5 feet wide and 8 feet tall and were basically floated.  This allows them to vibrate passing the bass easily to the foam and from there out into the yard where it never comes back.

From there the listening room was studded out and insulated inside this structure leaving an 18 inch air space behind the front wall.  Two Imperial 28 cubic foot folded horns are free floating in the corners but actually away from the "true" walls enough to eliminate any coupling.  The walls of the room are floated around the Imperial cabinets so that nothing touches them.