Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/29/24 at 07:03:37 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
My Torii arrived yesterday (Read 8397 times)
SteveC
Seasoned Member

My Torii arrived yesterday
07/29/11 at 23:34:02

Playing on HDT's.  I don't have the vocabulary to describe how good it sounds.  But I was grinning all night.  (Even straight out of the box without breaking it in.  It's very very nice.)   My definition of having the "singer in the room with you" got redefined last night.  "holographic" has new meaning.   I know better than before what high resolution is.
I remember thinking this amp has the power AND the finess I was looking for.  King Kong making a faberge egg.

I'm no expert.  I"m not an audiophile.  My only comparisons are decades of consumer stuff made by something like sonkyioneerwood.  Then I got a Myryad ss Class A.  Then a jolida Fx10 (pp el84s).  Then a zen 2watt.  (this did everything but would thud-out on the big bass hits at the listening levels I wanted, on 97db HammerDynamics and on the HDT's).  Now, the Torii provides the punches I was looking for.  There's something about the Zen I still like more (related to the attack of string plucks).   But hell, I'm making a comparison after just 3 hours on a 3 hour old torii.  vs a 9month old zen.  I look forward to the break in process.  

I was going to build a relay switching system (non shorting!) to hot swap amps on the fly to compare them.  I don't even care anymore.  The torii wins.  I don't need any more convincing than having those singers in my face last night.

It surprised and saddens me to hear some of the tone of threads on diyaudio.  well, I guess that's before the torii arrived.  I don't care anymore.  I'm just grinning now.    

In short, I'm so very happy, and in my limited experience, I can't imagine better.

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: My Torii arrived yesterday
Reply #1 - 07/30/11 at 00:00:35