Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 21:44:07 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
How many watts will the Taboo drive into 16 ohms (Read 7442 times)
MikeyLa
Ex Member

How many watts will the Taboo drive into 16 ohms
04/26/11 at 09:08:48

I'm specifically thinking of using the CSP+ / Taboo to drive Zu Audio Superfly's, they are 16 ohm speakers.

IP Logged
Pale Rider
Seasoned Member

Re: How many watts will the Taboo drive into 16 ohms
Reply #1 - 04/26/11 at 16:37:26

With 101db efficiency, at least as spec'ed, I cannot imagine that would be a problem.

1: PS Audio DirectStream | BHK Preamp & Monoblocks | Legacy Audio Aeris
2: MSB Select II | Custom T2 & Mjolnir Carbon CC | Stax SR-009 & 007
3: Lumin A1 | HeadAmp GS-X mk2 |Meze Empyrean & HEDDphone
4. Schiit Vidar | RAAL Requisite SR1a
  IP Logged
MikeyLa
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 04/27/11 at 06:31:31

I'm new to this, but I thought a doubling of Ohms would halve the power and 3 watts is at the min for the SuperFly's.

IP Logged
Pale Rider
Seasoned Member

Reply #3 - 04/27/11 at 13:57:21

I am still thinking that 3W of Taboo power should be enough for a very nice experience with a speaker that claims 101db of efficiency. But would be best to get input from someone who has listened to the Taboo on such a load.

1: PS Audio DirectStream | BHK Preamp & Monoblocks | Legacy Audio Aeris
2: MSB Select II | Custom T2 & Mjolnir Carbon CC | Stax SR-009 & 007
3: Lumin A1 | HeadAmp GS-X mk2 |Meze Empyrean & HEDDphone
4. Schiit Vidar | RAAL Requisite SR1a
  IP Logged
dank
Seasoned Member

pair of dual 18
Imperials

Reply #4 - 04/27/11 at 23:02:13