Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 20:18:12 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
"Minimalist" ERR setup? (Read 3534 times)
übergeek
Verified Member

"Minimalist" ERR setup?
04/24/11 at 06:01:42

Just curious, but what would be a good, economical "minimalist" setup using the ERR speakers? This is assuming using a Decware amp. I've been reading up on all of the products, the white papers, etc. Since I have no direct experience with tube gear, I'm getting a little confused over what would be appropriate to use with these speakers.

I first considered the DM945's. But the description of the ERR's sounded enticing, now I'm wondering if they would not be a better choice in the long run. Maybe the ERR, then later an Decware amp, then go from there as needed or desired...

IP Logged
ZYGI
Seasoned Member

HR-ONE

Re: "Minimalist" ERR setup?
Reply #1 - 04/24/11 at 13:04:34

Ubergeek

I'll try to answer both your questions in one post.....

DM945 4 ohm is probably best with a SE84C amp. they sound great with the Minitorii as well as the Taboo.

Minimalist set up with ERR's....I can enjoy the Minitorii with the ERR'S as I did the Taboo, but you really need a pre amp or a ZStage with the Taboo to bring it to full power. With the Mini, I can get the volume loud enough for me, and loud enough to awaken your neighbors if you live in an apartment type situation.  So it gets plenty loud enough.  I'd be willing to bet the SE34-II would do the same thing as the MiniTorri as far as volume, but I haven't heard the combo in my room, and can't remember what it sounded like at Steve's place.

Hope this helps

ZYGI

All Decware amps and sources, Turning Point Audio speakers
  IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: "Minimalist" ERR setup?
Reply #2 - 04/24/11 at 14:31:40