03/28/24 at 18:53:43 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Ribbon problem, (Read 733 times)
IMP
Ex Member

Ribbon problem,
07/12/10 at 20:07:46

New Err's installed and been done some listening test and straight off I knew things were not quite right. I wasn't sure what sort of sound stage to expect but I did expect the vocals to take centre stage but they just didn't. Getting close up it was obvious the ribbon tweeter is the culprit. One gives a nice clear sound the other all thin and screechy. The connections look fine to me but I'm not experienced enough to look at the ribbon itself to see if al is ok.

Any Suggestions as to what I should do or check?

Thanks

Ian

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Re: Ribbon problem,
Reply #1 - 07/12/10 at 23:39:50

Are both resistors the same value?  That could be a culprit.

I'd redo all the connections again if possible. . . I wish I had a quarter for every time I thought the connections were fine in my setup and I had something loose or wrong. . . .

HR-1,ZTPRE,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod,Taboo MkIV;Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD,P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls,Reference spkrcbls;Mapleshade SamsonV3;VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones:Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1
  IP Logged
dank
Seasoned Member

pair of dual 18
Imperials

Reply #2 - 07/12/10 at 23:57:11

If those speakers have the resistor and capacitor mounted in the jack plate where you can get to them, you could swap R and C with the other speaker to eliminate or prove if R or C or the connection is the problem.

Dan

IP Logged
ZYGI
Seasoned Member

HR-ONE

Reply #3 - 07/13/10 at 02:43:46

Ian,

Check what both Lon and Dan suggested first, sounds like a loose binding post, tighten them all up.