04/24/24 at 06:57:25 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Decware SE84G review (Read 14454 times)
chptunes
Verified Member

Decware SE84G review
08/05/09 at 20:48:27

..I've had the Decware SE84G (guitar amplifier) for about 1 year now.. so, I figure it's time to post a review.  ..just my $0.02.

First, a little background on me, and my gear..  I am not a professional musician.  ..just a regular guy who enjoys playing music, with friends or solo.  My guitar (the #1) is a self built “one-off” Esquire type.. I used mahogany wood from USA Custom Guitars and hardware from Bill Callaham Guitars.. with a low-output Lindy Fralin pickup in the bridge position. ..very solid rock 'n roller.  The other areas of my signal chain with the #1 and the SE84G is; George L’s Vintage instrument cable, Monster 500 series speaker cable, and a 1x12 cabinet loaded with a Weber 12A150 (8 Ohm).

My interest in the SE84G was due to Decware's emphasis on tone, instead of “bells and whistles”.  After being intrigued by this amp for a couple of years, I decided to try it.  ..have no doubt, the SE84G is exactly what Decware says it is.  12 watts of pure tone.. all ptp, with no circuit/tag boards.  And, it is “bulletproof” in more ways than one.  In addition to physical stamina, the SE84G operates gracefully with unmatched output tubes, or with only one output tube installed.  And it can drive any speaker load, 16 Ohms and downward.