03/28/24 at 20:19:25 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
ZKIT4 and ZKIT5 (Read 4085 times)
kdwhite
Verified Member

ZKIT4 and ZKIT5
03/09/09 at 19:41:10

I purchased both ZKITs 4 and 5 to do my own modification to a Tascam CD player similar to the ZCD.

The quality of the ZKIT4 PCB is outstanding.  I've only worked with a very view PCBs but this one is head and shoulders above anything in my experience.  The components in this kit are of very good quality and assembling the board is easy and straight forward.  I'm not an electrocincs expert by any stretch of the imagination.  But I was able to put this kit together without any difficulty.

The ZKIT5 is also of very good quality.  I pondered over how to arrange the components in my cd player and I finally elected to assemble a seperate power supply board for this kit using a Ratshack board.  It works fine but I missed the quality and  durabillity of the Decware board on the ZKIT4.  Point-to-point construction might have been more elegant but I found working with the power supply seperatly and on the bench easier for me.

Installing these kits into the Tascam was not difficult.  The hardest part was undertanding the circuitry (I'm not an electronics guy) so a view emails and a conversation with Steve D got me going in the right direction.  With Steve's help I found where to "borrow" the signal from the cd player's board and I was off to the races.

One of the most difficult tasks for lots of folks is making the holes in the back of the cd player cabinet to accomodate the new tubes.  I was dreading the job until I discovered the Chassis Punch Set.  I bought a set online for about $60.  Take my advice... if you want nice even round holes buy this tool.  It makes the job easy and quick.  One possible source is www.oselectronics.com.