04/24/24 at 08:49:57 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
dead Decware Select (Read 11204 times)
jags76
Ex Member

dead Decware Select
12/25/08 at 04:25:31

When a Select doesn't turn on anymore what might likely be the cause?:  On/Off toggle swithch, Capacitor, etc..  Yes it is plugged in and no fuses are blown.  I have been using a sovtek 5y3 rectifier for several months now.  The amp is 3 years old.

IP Logged
Steve Deckert
Administrator

If the 1st watt
sucks why continue?

Re: dead Decware Select
Reply #1 - 12/25/08 at 04:46:09

If none of the tubes light up after you turn it on, then the fuse is in fact blown, or you put a blown one back in, or you put the fuse in the wrong spot.  At least I'd be willing to bet my Christmas fruitcake on it  ;)

Steve

WWW   IP Logged
jags76
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 12/25/08 at 05:52:17

Thanks Steve for rapid reply and on Xmas eve of all times.  If you or anyone can tell me where the fuse is located inside a Select that would be helpful.  I looked inside with my Cree flashlight but can not see anything that looks like a fuse.  NOT AN EMERGENCY SO ENJOY YOUR XMAS EVE.   I popped in a T-amp in the meantime but as good as it is it doesn't compete with the select.  Just is not as magical (accurate?) as a Select.  Ritchie Blackmore's guitar sounds like Ritchie Blackmore's guitar on the Select.

IP Logged
Lon
Seasoned Member

"Love without
guts is
worthless!"
Philip K. Dick

Reply #3 - 12/25/08 at 11:52:51

Try the power cord.  The fuse may be located in the housing of the IEC connector end. . . .

Merry Christmas!

HR-1,ZBIT,ZROCK2,SEWE300B,CSP3-25mod; Rega RP3 all GrooveTracer mods;PSAudio:PST+DSD, DAC Mk II, P15,NPC,PowerBases,AC-12 pwr cbls, Reference spkrcbls; Mapleshade SamsonV3; VooDoo:Cremona+Amati interconnects, IsoPods; headphones: Sennheiser HD800S,ZMF Ori,Oppo PM1
  IP Logged
Hotsauce
Seasoned Member

Reply #4 - 12/25/08 at 14:02:07

Its this type of IEC socket, the rectangular piece pulls out and holds a spare fuse.  

John C.