Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/24/24 at 13:30:11 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Fault with my SE84CS? - rising frequency response (Read 5077 times)
smokingdrum
Ex Member

Fault with my SE84CS? - rising frequency response
06/08/08 at 17:17:56

Hi All,

I hope you can help me with this. I have a Select Zen SE84CS which I've been using for about five years.

I've had an issue, though, which has been going on for ages (years) and I think the amp may be at fault, though it's a problem which I have gradually become more aware of over time. Any help would be gratefully received.

Basically the problem is the sound has been "thin" for a long time. I am not even sure if it has always been like this but ever since I made my Parker Audio 98MKII speakers I started noticing that the sound, while beautifully clear, has had a lot of high frequency element - not that it didn't have bass.

(As a tinnitus sufferer it's been a cause of real pain as lots of high frequency noise really hurts!)

So I made the Parker Audio speakers to partner my Zen amp a few years back. Ever since then I've improved other components with a new Origin Live turntable and Silver arm. Then a Vertex AQ Jaya mains filter. The sound improved enormously gaining a sense of space and clarity. But the sound was still painful.

I decided to build the Decware HDT speakers, wanting to build a single driver speaker as they are so renowned for having a fantastic and smooth midband. The speakers are absolutely wonderful, giving superb imaging and even more detail over the Parker Audio speakers. Still the over-bearing top end  remained. The speakers sounded better off-axis as listening directly on-axis was painful.

Just two days ago I took delivery of a new phono stage - a Lehmann Black Box - the remaining link in my vinyl source chain to be upgraded. Wonderful as this new phono stage sounds, I was hoping it would bring back my midband and reign in the high frequencies. But it did not.