04/18/24 at 05:54:47 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Zen Ecstacy (Read 13551 times)
kdwhite
Verified Member

Zen Ecstacy
04/15/07 at 03:22:24

I'm enjoying a Victory Hop Devil Ale, in celebration as I write this.  I've had a truly remarkable expericience today.

I'm 53.  I've listened to a lot of music over the years.  My interests have run a wide gambit.  I've been an amature musician most of my life, too.  I think I have some idea of what what good music sounds like.

I purchased a Decware SE84ZS 2 or 3 months ago.  I talked Dave into selling it in kit form.  I had the hots to build something and this seemed like the perfect thing for me.  I don't have much knowledge in electronics but I can read schematics and I'm reasonably handy.

The little amp has always been a challange in my system.  (See the thread called "Dazed and Confuzed" in the Zen Triode support section.)  It sounded good but I always felt like I wasn't really getting what all the rave was about.  I replaced old corroded speaker cables.  That helped.  I discovered problems with my speakers.  (Original Klipshe Forte)  I replaced tweeter diaghragms.  Then, I got motivated to upgrade the crossovers and built custom crossovers with Hovland caps.  Then I found a buzzing sound in one of the mid range horns.  I rebuilt it myself and fixed that problem.  (The diaphragms are a bonded assembly and the glue dried out and failed.)  Things got better, but the little amp just would not play very loud without audible, yet subtle distortion.  It sounded pretty darned good but I still had doubts that the amp was everything people say it is.  So, I just remained persistant and kept looking deeper into tweaks and fixes.

Then one day, things really went haywire.  I turned on the amp and schreeching sounds were comming out of my speakers!  I turned off the amp, and franticaly pulled the input cables.  I found a burned resistor.  Why?   I talked to Dave and he said I probably had a shorted tube.  He was right.