Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/20/24 at 01:25:33 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
HWK for older digital organ low frequencies (Read 13805 times)
fbrabson
Ex Member

HWK for older digital organ low frequencies
03/15/08 at 16:18:37

I'm new to the HWK forum and to DIY subwoofers in general.  It's been cool checking out all the projects on here.  8-)

I'm thinking about a HWK to reinforce the low end of my Allen digital organ.  The organ is early digital technology (late 70's), with only two 32' stops (bottom note around 16Hz) coming off one channel...the stops differ mostly in volume and presence, not so much in tone color.

I live in a small apartment (ground-floor, concrete slab) with neighbors above and beside, so I'm not looking to wreck any houses.  What I would like is some nice "purr" on the bottom end, and my current cabs just don't do it.  I'm running 4 channels thru 4 Allen 100W amps.  Speakers can be seen at http://www.allenorgan.com/www/products/speakers/hc14.html

I'm never gonna be in a great big house or needing to rattle walls with the bottom end of this thing....I just want solid reinforcement.

Is the 15" version enough?  Recommended drivers/amps/crossovers?  I'm currently a grad student, so cost is somewhat a factor.

Thanks for any input.  :)

Freddie

IP Logged
Bart_West-VL.
Ex Member

Re: HWK for older digital organ low frequencies
Reply #1 - 03/15/08 at 17:05:54

Maybe you would better build one bass reflex box.
Tuned to 16Hz with an 18" driver and a low pass filter at ±35Hz.

IP Logged
fbrabson
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 03/15/08 at 18:49:50

Bart,