Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/19/24 at 20:17:00 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Building tube system around Decware DM944s (Read 6655 times)
renderman
Ex Member

Building tube system around Decware DM944s
10/28/07 at 05:22:30

Smiley Hello all, I am brand new to the Decware forums and also brand new to owning a tube amp of any kind... and... I have a few questions...

I have a few theoretical set ups in mind, since this will be strictly a listening setup, I picked the speakers first and worked my way backwards. They will each be about 3 feet away from my ears, and 4 feet apart from eachother on my computer desk.

The speakers I will be powering are Decware DM944 Monitors. They are rated at 4ohm nominal impedance and between 2 - 100 watts. High Efficiency, 8in. driver, look great, etc...

--

Setup one: DAC > Decware SE84C 2w/ch. Tube Amp > DM944 Monitors

or

Setup two: DAC > ZBox > Decware SE84C 2w/ch. Tube Amp > DM944 Monitors

1: Will I get the same effect that the Zbox offers with only the SE84C tube amp? Or will I have to have both to get the benefit of the ZBox?

also

2: Will this SE84C Tube amp power the DM944 monitors nicely? or would you recommend the SE84ZS? (I'm guessing the obvious answer is yes to the SE84C, but I listen to music pretty loud every once in a while, and would like to have some nice clean loud sound(aka a bit of nice overhead).)

--

This next setup is not exactly a tube set up but would like your feed back please with a cherry on top:

Setup three: DAC > Decware ZBox > Bryston 2B Amp > DM944 Monitors

3: General feedback would be nice, I think they would power the DM944's nicely, and the ZBox would refine the DAC analog signal.

The Bryston 2B is conservatively rated at 100w @4ohms. (I've head one, they sound amazing.)