04/23/24 at 18:02:04 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
first build (Read 944 times)
silverleaf
Ex Member

first build
08/05/07 at 14:40:43

its my first build,  first time building a speaker box so i want to do it right .   ihave read most of the posts for the deathbox (and bought the plans) but was wondering if 2 12" Sound solutions audio ICON 12D2  (clamshelled) is too much for this box.  and if both speakers are attached to panel (b) or if one is attached to panel (a) cause is set several inches away... any help will be appreciate

thanks

silver

IP Logged
Hotsauce
Seasoned Member

Re: first build
Reply #1 - 08/05/07 at 19:57:16

Lots of speakers have too large a surround to be clamshelled without a spacer.

If you have the speakers already, try just 1 first.  

John C.

IP Logged
Adrian
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 08/06/07 at 13:20:48

nice sub choice Wink

IP Logged
silverleaf
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 08/07/07 at 22:58:58

i got the spacer but i have other questions...see  im quite a perfectionist and i like doing things right the first time but i have come to realize that this type of box is kind of trial and error type of thing...so lets start from the beginning...

1.  how does every body run the  speaker wires th the subs on the inside if you are      
    clamshelling. do you drill holes for speaker terminals

2.  do i need poly fill (i dont want to buy it and not need it)and i certantly dont want to
    seal up the box and need it.    

3.  my amp is only a rockford fosgate 500.2( not the biggest thing in the world) should i  
    use both speakers in this box or just one (its going in a 05 scion xb)

4.  im building the dbk212 plans where should i place the insert at first,  close to the port
     like in the dbk10II plans.

as you can see i am a total nooob and some what clueless (maybe even totally)but any help will be appreciated

thanks

silver

IP Logged
60_and_up
Ex Member

Reply #4 - 08/08/07 at 00:35:26

1.  up to you, i run bare wires