Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 09:27:40 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Some questions about building HDTs (Read 6826 times)
michu
Ex Member

Some questions about building HDTs
05/19/07 at 08:39:59

Hello everybody,
I'm new to DECWARE forums, but I have spent some days looking through it and I'm sure it is a nice and helpful community. I just ordered HDT prints (with parts) and drivers, and while I'm waiting for the package being shipped the long way to Poland, I'd like to start building cabinets. After looking at PDFs available on DECWARE website after purchase, I have some questions, as it is the first time I will be building speaker columns:

1. What is included in HDTs blueprints that isn't available in PDF files? From the description on site I know that I'll get an exploded view of cabinets, which will be very helpful, but what else? Any tips, detailed instructions, pictures of details like passives, etc.?

2. What is the right order of building HDTs? Or, in other words, can I assemble, close and finish cabinets before I get drivers and other parts? Or maybe I should wait with some step until I get parts, because installing them into finished cabinets will be tricky or impossible?

3. In PDF plans I don't see any mention about dampening materials. Doesn't HDTs use any of them, or should I install them based on my (non existing) experience, or will I get instructions with HDT prints?

4. Port tubes in the bottom part of cabinets - as I understand, I have to purchase them separately on my own, as they aren't included in HDTPRINTS kit. I have found some tubes of the right size that are available in Poland, but they aren't made of one piece - they are sizable in telescopic way. Will such port tubes be OK? Please look at the vendor site: http://www.monacor.de/en/produktseite_suche.php?artid=2461&typ=full&spr=...

5. Wiring - how should I plan and prepare for speaker wiring while I'm building cabinets? Any tips?