Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/19/24 at 10:17:01 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Building an eight inch WO ( PIC'S ) (Read 18855 times)
Yok666
Ex Member

Building an eight inch WO ( PIC'S )
08/14/06 at 19:28:38

I plan to build a 24" x 36" WO using Infinity 850W's. I want to fit the box under the package tray of a Crown Vic. The only problem is that the height in the tray area is only 11 1/4" which means that I will have side panels only 9 1/2" high. Will the loss of a half an inch compromise the performance of the box and is the 850W a good choice for this application. TIA

Matt

IP Logged
J_Rock
Ex Member

Re: Building an eight inch WO
Reply #1 - 08/14/06 at 22:57:02

Infinity makes some great subs, although I have no experience with their 9 inch version, I can recommend them as a companys.

As far as the height- make it as large as you can fit and you shouldn't have a problem.

IP Logged
Yok666
Ex Member

Re: Building an eight inch WO
Reply #2 - 09/03/06 at 21:48:59

Well I have almost completed the box, I'm now just waiting for the drivers to arrive so I can finish it off. Here are some pics.

I was able to make the box out of only 1 4' X 8' piece of 3/4" MDF board. I had the store do all of the major cuts and cut the rest using a Skill saw with a 40 tooth carbide blade. The box is really heavy. Once the drivers are in I don't think anyone will be carting it away without help.

IP Logged
Yok666
Ex Member

Re: Building an eight inch WO ( PIC'S )
Reply #3 - 09/05/06 at 14:06:27