Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 17:34:36 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Splitting WO32 for stereo pair? (Read 18243 times)
nodiak
Ex Member

Splitting WO32 for stereo pair?
02/18/06 at 16:19:15

First off, I'm just asking a question, not challenging the design, because I don't know any better  ;D. I'm hoping for reasons it might or won't work based on experience/knowledge of those that do, especially anyone that's tried it.
I'll be trying a couple tl designs too to hear what works best with my system/room. Electronic xo and seperate amp, ob mains.
I'll be trying the bass systems under/close to the mains for stereo.
OK, here's the real question: can the WO32 cabinet perform as intended if split into 2 sections. Each section would still have the mouth area of the designed unit. So, for each single driver unit the diagonal from back of cab continues, but as a solid wall.
You see, I'm just starting to learn about this design and don't know if mouth size is because of 2 drivers, or works for 1 driver.
My idea would be to have the option of the unit standing on a side, so the mouth is still on the floor (diagonal facing floor, build a flat bottom" so it will stand up, maybe fill the void with sand...different issue...). The output gets extended by floor as intended this way, and I could rest mains on top (decoupled) if want to.
So, another thing I don't know is whether the design requires 2 drivers to function correctly, or is it a marriage of 2 single units that can be divorced  ;D.
Don

IP Logged
nodiak
Ex Member

Re: Splitting WO32 for stereo pair?
Reply #1 - 02/18/06 at 17:07:21

realized with some cutting and glueing the 2 units could be joined for a normal-as-designed wo32 if it didn't work out.

IP Logged
Adrian D.
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 02/18/06 at 18:47:06

i guess it's better to try it "stock" and then try to modd if you don't like it.
my idea : don't mess with the design. take it as it is and enjoy Wink

IP Logged
nodiak