Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
03/28/24 at 11:40:25 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Top Notch Customer Service (Read 8699 times)
goldenk10
Ex Member

Top Notch Customer Service
02/17/06 at 09:00:33

W032 plans ordered 2/7/06. Plans mailed USPS priority 2/8/06. 2/16/06 - No plans. Apparently the USPS incident in Goleta, CA stopped all priority shipments. Called Steve, and DeVon, and they not only followed up with my order, but scanned the plans for me, emailed them to me, checked I had recieved that email, and sent them another time just to be sure. For a Mechanical Engineering student under time pressures in his final year, this kind of customer service cannot go without praise.

Steve and DeVon, Thank You!

I have read all of the W032 threads at least twice and cannot wait to listen to my new subwoofer (after I build it this weekend). I am currently studying acoustics and noise control as part of my concentration. As far as I am able to analyze, Steve's designs and attention to detail are second to none. I hope to find what sort of horn expansion is used in the W032. My hunch is a tractrix expansion. I know others have experimented with resizing some dimensions to make W024's etc., but see this at best, as a perversion of an excellent design, with no attention to proper horn-expansion engineering considerations.

My task is to measure TRUE Thiele-Small parameters for my drivers, map the horn expansion of the W032, and see what the enclosure will do to my frequency response. The drivers I ordered can be seen here:

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-550

I opted for these instead of the VIFA M26WR09's purely for cost reasons. I plan to share my findings in the forum once my analysis is complete on the performance of these particular drivers in the W032 enclosure.

IP Logged
60ndown
Ex Member

Re: Top Notch Customer Service
Reply #1 - 02/17/06 at 13:23:10

i used this one