Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
04/19/24 at 00:15:44 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Goodwill $20 bucks = Jensen G-610! (Read 12883 times)
OTL
Ex Member

Goodwill $20 bucks = Jensen G-610!
11/17/05 at 21:58:28

I'm a newbie here and would like to share a cool story and solicit some advice.

As luck would have it, I happened across a JBL C37 Signature cabinet at the local Goodwill.  After noticing the brass Jensen mid/high controls on the side of the cabinet I almost wet myself.  I then asked "How much" and the dude placed a $20 sticker on the walnut veneer.  Needless to say this piece was going home with me.  You would have laughed your ass off watching me cram this baby into the back seat of my Infiniti G35.  Very close to a "gas-tight" fit!

After wrestling the cabinet into my living room by myself, I removed the rear cabinet panel and was greeted by a Jensen Triaxial, Ultra-High Fidelity G-610!  Oh My!  This baby has been in here since 1956 or so and NEVER touched.  As they say, unmolested and minty.

Enuff about me and my good fortune.....what would you folks suggest?

- build a single Imperial cabinet?
- obtain another G-610 and build a stereo pair and drive 'em with my Atma-Sphere M60 MK II's?
- sell the G-610 and take the (considerable) profit?

If nothing else this little story should keep you all on the lookout at your local Goodwill.  

Thanks and Godspeed,

OTL

IP Logged
J_Rock
Ex Member

Re: Goodwill $20 bucks = Jensen G-610!
Reply #1 - 11/17/05 at 22:12:51

One part stood out from that entire story other than your great luck:

"Infiniti G35" and "Goodwill"  

Isn't the G35 the new Skyline?

IP Logged
OTL
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 11/17/05 at 22:59:02

Well, Goodwill has been very, very good to me.  Just call me "Thrifty".  Between the Greenwich, CT, Stamford, CT and Westport, CT stores I've brought home...

Pair of Spica Angelus (in my living room, playing now)
A Thorens TD-125 w/SME arm (refurb'ed and sold for $350)